Simon Says

…touch your right foot.

Have you ever played Simon Says? And no I’m not talking about American Idol. I can’t repeat all the things Simon says there.

I’m talking about the game, where one person is “Simon,” and he or she can direct another group of people simply by saying, “Simon says take one step forward” or backward or left or right. Simon can also say “Simon says touch your toes” or “Simon says jump on one foot.”

As long as you do what Simon says, you’re still in the game.

Sounds simple enough, right?

Oh, but there’s a catch. Sometimes, you’ll get so focused on doing whatever Simon said to do, (the infamous, “rub your stomach and pat your head” trick) that you’ll stop listening to what Simon is saying. If the “Simon” of the game doesn’t say “Simon says” before an action, you’re not supposed to do it.

:::Sample Game Below:::

Simon: Simon says to jump on one foot. (participants begin jumping on one foot)

Simon: Stop. (if you stop, you’re “out” because “Simon didn’t say.”) Dang!

Riveting, I know.

However, yesterday I began thinking the game had a lot of similarities to the Christian life (at least for me). Go with me here…

I try desperately to listen and hear the Lord’s direction in my life. He says “Go,” I go. He says “Wait,” I try my hardest to wait (which is usually harder for me than the going). Sometimes, while I’m going or waiting, I get so caught up in the process that I begin to start doing things He didn’t say to do. You’ll never hear the Lord say “Worry…to the point of insanity” or “Freak out.”

But I do it.

I’ve been in and out of the spiritual Simon Says game for years, constantly being allowed to get back in the game even though my actions have earned me a spot against the Wall of Those Who Couldn’t Listen.

Praise the Lord for second chances…

and third…and fourth.

My loving husband shared this song with me over lunch while I was talking with him about my current job situation. It’s by Vineyard.

If You say go, we will go
If You say wait, we will wait
If You say step out on the water
And they say it can’t be done
We’ll fix our eyes on You and we will come

Your ways are higher than our ways
And the plans that You have laid
Are good and true
If You call us to the fire
You will not withdraw Your hand
We’ll gaze into the flames and look for You

Lord, teach me to wait, to listen, and to be thankful for your patience with me.

And thanks for subbing me back in the game when I totally don’t deserve it.

One thought on “Simon Says

Leave a Reply

