Beauty for Ashes

“To all who mourn in Israel, he will give a crown of beauty for ashes, a joyous blessing instead of mourning, festive praise instead of despair. In their righteousness, they will be like great oaks that the LORD has planted for his own glory.” Isaiah 61:3

This was the verse running through my head when I woke up Thursday morning. I was really thankful the Lord brought it to my attention early, so it might make the day a little easier. Many of you reading this today heard Jay announce we were expecting another little one in February 2014. Many of you do not know that we miscarried Wednesday.

Even just typing that line brings tears. I hate the word so much, even before it happened to us. It just sounds so clinical, so simple for something so incredibly difficult. I’ve read several blogs and articles, trying to understand what was happening and why. Maybe trying to find an explanation somewhere, I guess. One thing was evident on each site: no matter how far along the woman was, 5 weeks or 13 weeks, each one was mourning the loss of her child. That’s exactly what Jay and I have been doing the last several days.

For those of you hearing this news for the first time, I’m deeply sorry you’re finding out on a blog. I’m sure this would normally be an intimate conversation held somewhere offline, and if I could do that with each of you, I would. 

I appreciate you asking Jay how I am, and texting to see if we need anything. We will gladly accept your encouragement. Lord knows we need it now! Though Jay and I are very, very sad, we do understand the Lord causes all things to work for the good of those who love Him and are called according to His purpose.

He is making all things new, and for that, we are very thankful. 

3 thoughts on “Beauty for Ashes

  1. Hey Jay and Nicole,

    I am truly sorry to hear about this happening to you guys, but I am encouraged that you both are still focused on Christ. So many, even those in ministry, struggle with understanding why these types of things happen to them. My wife and I had a chemical pregnancy a couple of years ago before we conceived our third child, and although we hadn’t had any official doctor visits for due dates and confirmation of the pregnancy, the loss was still tough to wrap our minds and hearts around. We’ll be praying for you guys as you continue on in your ministry, healing and comfort will come. 😀

    Phillip Whitfield

  2. Elizabeth N says:

    Hey, I’ve been wondering how y’all are doing, and I’m so sad to hear what y’all have experienced 😦 Shaun and I were there and I remember how tough it was. In fact, it’s still hard. One thing we found “comfort” (not sure if that’s really the right word) in is that we would be able to minister to other couples who dealt with this. I’m so sorry for your loss and that your joy and excitement turned to mourning. I will be praying for you guys and will keep checking here to see what’s new in your lives. Love you both!

Leave a Reply

