It is Well

My husband and I watched You’ve Got Mail tonight. It was such a refreshing time–to sit by ourselves and watch a clean, happy movie where boy meets girl and things work out. Even if you don’t like chick flicks, you gotta love YGM. Meg Ryan? Tom Hanks? C’mon. 

We really enjoyed our much needed night o’ relaxation. C is with his aunt and uncle while we get the house back in order after having our floors redone. Oh, that’s a story in itself. Some other time.

As I quietly sit in bed, I’m just thinking about this year coming to an end. In January, I remember saying to Jay, Well, no matter how bad 2014 is, it can’t be anything compared to 2013!

And it’s true. 2013 was pretty terrible. Sure, there were some great moments, but overall…so bad. 2014 was pretty rocky, too. More great moments here and there, but just…unsettled. Stressful. Desert-like.

But there’s hope.

Because of the terribleness of 2013, a few of my friends and I will be starting a miscarriage support ministry at our church, reaching out to the 10 or so women within our group who miscarried this year. Because of 2013, my husband and I plan to begin the adoption process in January.

Because of 2013, I can hold the hands of a sweet friend and truly say, Friend, I know what you’re going through. Infertility. Miscarriage. Failed placements. The struggle is real, and we are walking through it.

When Jay and I lost “Starfish” in July 2013, the song Never Once was newish and popular in our church. Often times in my life, the Lord chooses to reveal a song that just speaks directly to my heart.

Recently, two songs have been on repeat on my playlists. One is You Make Me Brave and the other is It Is Well, by Bethel. I was going to share the words to the latter with you, but honestly, you just HAVE to hear it. Reading just won’t be the same. And turn the volume up. I mean, up. Share it with the neighbors.

Maybe it will encourage you the way it has encouraged and challenged me. 🙂

One thought on “It is Well

  1. Thank you for the songs! My story is a little different than yours, but I have still felt that loss when my daughter passed away and I agree with you about God revealing songs to us! I love the ones you mentioned, will definitely have them on repeat!

Leave a Reply

